Visit MaineToday's profile on Pinterest.

About The Author


Shannon Bryan

Send an email | Read more from Shannon

Posted: April 16, 2013

MAMM SLAM 2013: The Winners

Written by: Shannon Bryan

About MAMM SLAM | Complete rules

Congrats to Beware of Pedestrians!

The 2013 MAMM SLAM winners

L-R, MAMM Director Jeff Shaw with Greg Farrington, Nate Harvey, Jake Bergeron, Ben Bergeron of Beware of Pedestrians, this year’s MAMM SLAM winners. Courtesy photo


Beware of Pedestrians

Scarborough High School/Gorham High School
Nate Harvey (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Ben Bergeron (backing vocals, lead guitar), Jake Bergeron (bass), and Greg Farrington (drums)

// Check them out


The prize package includes a cool $1,000 sponsored by the Rusty Rocket Foundation, along with coveted recording time, TV appearances, radio play, plum gigs and professional marketing direction.

MAMM SLAM 2013, Maine’s high school battle of the bands, was presented by The Maine Academy of Modern Music and Portland Music Foundation.

The winners of the individual categories are:

The judges were:

  • Dan Bodoff – Co-Host/Founder,
  • Megan Littlefield – Promotions Coordinator, WPXT-TV
  • Anna Lombard – Musician, Anna & The Diggs
  • Andrew Olson – Owner/Luthier, AO Guitars
  • Matt Shardlow – Volunteer, Rusty Rocket Foundation

Herb Ivy of WBLM & WCYY was our host.

The Fogcutters were our special guest performers.

Congrats to all the MAMM SLAM finalists!


Mark It Zero

Portland High School/Deering High School
Samson Martin (vox, bass), Evan Sampson (rhythm guitar), Jacob Katsiaficas (lead guitar), Ben Kalicky (drums)

// Check them out



The Stolen Mural

Casco Bay High School/Falmouth High School/Cheverus High School
Antonio Macomber (bass), Henry Coxe (guitar, synth), Sam Savaun (vocals), Drew Harmon (drums), Sebastian Andrew (guitar, synth)

// Check them out



Rupture the Fish

Waynflete High School, Scarborough High School, Cape Elizabeth High School, Biddeford High School
Scott Ralston (guitar, vocals), Spencer Teachout (bass), Eamon Kelley (guitar), Ben Nason (drums)

// Check them out



Simple Burden

Greely High School
Dylan Sinclair (guitar, lead vocals), Ryan Beagan (bass, backup vocals), Josh Medrano (drums), Joey Clayton (guitar)

// Check them out

And the Wild Card!



Casco Bay High School, South Portland High School
Sasha McClure (guitar, vocals), Bert Clement (acoustic guitar)

// Check them out


Kudos to all the MAMM SLAM bands


Battle Taxi

Falmouth High School, Deering High School, home school
Noah Beliveau (guitar), Colin Beliveau (bass, backing vocals), Jon Moore (drums), Christina Taylor (vocals, lyrics, backup guitar)

// Check them out



Freudian Slip

Cheverus High School
Justin “Nicolas” Donatelli (guitar), Matthew Atienza (guitar), Elise Coleman (vocals), Drew Harmon (drums), Michael Lyons (bass)

// Check them out



Her Majesty and Company

Casco Bay High School
Antonio Macomber (guitar), Logan Rausch (throat)

// Check them out




Windham High School
MacKenzie Libby (bass, vocals), Nick Dorr (drums), Glen Turcotte (guitar), Travic Grant (guitar, vocals)

// Check them out



The sponsors

Up Next: